Home page > Local News >
General introduction of Nujiang Lisu Autonomous Prefecture
Beijing Time:2014-09-11 16:26:20  Page views:  


  Nujiang Prefecture is situated in the longitudinal valley in north-west of Yunnan Hengduan Mountains, located in 98°39' to 99 °39' east longitude and 25°33' to 28°23'north latitude. It borders Diqing Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, Dali Bai Autonomous Prefecture and Lijiang on the east, Myanmar on the west, Baoshan on the south, Chayu Autonomous County of Tibet on the north. It shares a 449.47-Km boundary line with Myanmar. It covers an area of 14703 Km?. Under the Prefecture's jurisdiction there are Lushui County, Fugong County, Gongshan Dulong and Nu Autonomous County, Lanping Bai and Pumi Autonomous County, which are divided into 29 towns, 258 villages, 12 communities. There are 22 nationalities including Lisu、Nu、Dulong、Pumi and Bai people. By the end of 2009, the population totaled 523 thousand, minority nationalities account for 92.7% of the total population and Lisu people are the majority. In 2009, Nujiang’s GDP reached ?4.84 billion yuan, up by 13.1% over the previous year, the average annual income per urban resident came to ?9619.71 yuan, up by 19.6%, and that per rural resident, ?1752 yuan, up by 21%. The total value of Nujiang’s exports and imports amounted to ? 277 million yuan, up 39%.

  Before the People’s Republic of China was founded, the area of Nujiang, under the jurisdiction of neighboring district in Chinese dynasties, had never been an administrative division. After China’s founding, Nujiang Lisu Autonomous Region consisting of Lushui, Bijinag, Fugong, Gongshan was founded on 23rd August, 1954. It was renamed Nujiang Lisu Autonomous Prefecture in January 1957, and Lanping County was delimited into Nujiang from the then governance under Lijiang District. In 1956 Gongshan County was renamed Gongshan Dulong Autonomous County. On 24th September of 1986 the administration division of Bijiang County was cancelled, 5 towns under Bijiang County were incorporated into Fugong and Gongshan County respectively. On 27th November 1987, Lanping Pumi Autonomous County was set up.

〖 Print 〗 〖 Close 〗